< Back to School Information

Our Governors

Meadows School introduced a governing body in 2016 and has now grown to include the company directors, external education specialists, care manager, safeguarding lead and care staff.  Most of the current Governors have responsibilities or are members of sub-committee’s that are devoted to improving the education for our pupils.

The role of the Governing Body is to make decisions about the school and how it is run. Governors are strategic leaders of the school and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. The focus is to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction, holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, the performance management of staff and overseeing the financial performance of the school..

The Governors meet three times a year and sub committees meet at least termly.

Chair of Governors

Sue Cryer – Safeguarding.


Paula Forth (Head of School)                                                                                                     Rebecca Whitehead (Secretary)

Jane Toner (Director)                                                                                                                    Jonathan Rigg (Director) – Finance and Budgeting.

Ian Bywater (Property Manager) – Health and Safety.                                                   Joanne Sheldon – Equality, Inclusion and SEN

Karen Brandon (Operational Director)                                                                                Karen McCarthy – Training and Careers

Carla Bennett (Registered Manager)                                                                                     Megan Whitlock (Registered Manager)

Dr Nicola Shanahan   –  Social, Emotional and Mental Health      

Governing body information 2021                           


Sub Committees.

Welfare and Attendance Team(WAT) Sub Committee

Sue Cryer,  Carla Bennett, Krista Howell, Megan Whitlock, Paula Forth.

Curriculum and Finance

Jonathan Rigg, Jane Toner,  Sue Cryer.

Quality and Standardisation Sub Committee

Sue Cryer, Jane Toner, Ian Bywater, Karen McCarthy.


Please email school@meadowscare.co.uk for more information.





More Information

Ofsted – Meadows School achieved a GOOD in 2019

Meadows School are pleased to have received an "Good" report from Ofsted who acknowledged that teachers have a strong subject knowledge and a thorough understanding of pupils' learning ...read more


At Meadows School, we believe that students, staff and carers/guardians are all part of a team which aims to achieve the best possible outcomes for every student.  Our policies and pro...read more

Our Academic Achievement

Meadows School are very proud of the academic achievement that our pupils have made over the last year.  We have increased the number of GCSE qualifications on offer  to our pupils to...read more